CEMETERY SUPERINTENDENT IDENTIFIED WITH FAMILY IN 109 YEAR OLD IMAGES

The images caught my eye two years ago while I was doing research into the establishment of the Mound City National Cemetery. The photographs depict the cemetery in March 1900 according to a date stamped in ink on the boarder of one of the images.  They’re historic pictures – without a doubt – and they could be among the oldest in existence that feature the national cemetery near Mound City. They contain several historic elements, which I’ll write about later. But first I’d like to talk about the people in those pictures and how the 1900 census can help us identify them.

All three of the images are on display at the Caretaker’s Lodge where the Mound City National Cemetery Preservation Commission  maintains a history display.

One of three images of the Mound City National Cemetery that date from March 1900

One of three images of the Mound City National Cemetery that date from March 1900

My particular interest was to learn if the man dressed in black (see below) was the cemetery superintendent.  As I wrote and directed in a documentary created for the commission: Quiet Acres: The Story of the Mound City National Cemetery, the superintendent was responsible for the grounds and general upkeep of the burial site.  He also had to be a veteran of the Civil War.

Throughout my work on the Mound City project, I never found a picture of a superintendent. That’s why these photographs offered an interesting opportunity to see if I could identify the “man in black.” I suspected he was a superintendent.

cemetery_wideshot

people_closeUP

I located the 1900 Census on ancestry.com and started leafing through the pages for Mound City, one page at a time, looking for someone with the job title of Superintendent of the National Cemetery. After scanning through 57 pages, I found it:

CENSUS_closeup

The “Man in Black” may be William Dillon, 55. The woman standing next to him in the image could be Emma, 35. At the time of the 1900 Census they had been married 17 years and had four children.

CENSUS2

caretaker's household in 1900

I am unable to provide specific evidence William Dillon was a superintendent at the cemetery beyond this circumstantial evidence. However, I do recall seeing his name on documents within the cemetery files at the National Archives. The ages seem to match with the images. He looks 55; she 35. Furthermore, the image shows two children, which I’ll talk more about below.

HAPPYcouple

LODGE_wide

Here’s an image of the cemetery’s caretaker’s lodge featuring four girls, including three with bicycles. If you look at the census excerpts, you’ll see that William and Emma Dillon had four children, including three girls aged 7, 10 and 14.  

girls_closeup

A close up of the image suggests the three girls on the right belong to the Dillon family.  The taller girl on the left looks to be 14. The girl to the far right looks to be 10. The small girl in front matches the physical appearance of a seven year old. Plus, the youngest girl can also be found in the first image with her parents. According to the census, this little girl’s name is Emma Dillon, the same as her mother.

SMALLGIRLGIRL1

Her style of hair and distinctive forehead, I believe, help confirm Emma’s identification in these images. There is one more identifying feature – the bicycles.  The two girls on the right in the Caretaker image have similar bicycles with a unique design feature on the rear wheels. To me this is a classic giveaway the two bicyclists may be related. One can imagine the father buying the two bicycles at the same time from the same outlet.

bikeCLOSEupbikeCLOSEup2

 Based on what I’ve learned through the census of 1900 and all the circumstantial evidence (and a healthy dose of pure conjecture), I would suggest the family identified in the images made at the Mound City National Cemetery in March 1900  is that of William Dillion, 55, and his wife Emma 35, and their three girls: Gertrude, 14; Clara, 10 and Emma, 7. 

There is another little girl in the caretaker image. I cannot identify her at this time, but I’ll continue to research the question. I did check the census to see if a neighbor might be found with a pre-teen or teenage girl, but I couldn’t find any.

The cemetery image shows a man standing on the far right. William DillonGUY2 did have several sons, including one that was about the same age as Emma, who would be his step-mother. Based on the census and these images, I cannot say if the man is one of William’s sons. I will continue to look into this and report back if I learn anything new

If these images had been made a year or more later, I doubt I could have identified the family. I got lucky. These images were made only four months before census enumerator Frank B. Allen stopped by to collect the names of those who lived at the national cemetery.

__________________________________________________

When the images were taken in the earliest days of spring 1900, William had been on the job for less than one year. In June 1899, Thomas A. Fitzpatrick, the superintendent that preceded him, was shot to death by a disgruntled cemetery worker. That worker’s body was found in November 1899 less than mile from the scene of the shooting. He apparently killed Fitzpatrick and then escaped to a remote location and shot himself.

~ r.k.

 

4 thoughts on “CEMETERY SUPERINTENDENT IDENTIFIED WITH FAMILY IN 109 YEAR OLD IMAGES

  1. Carolyn Geittmann

    Richard, you certainly did an excellent job working with the clues you had and found in identifying the old pictures. I’ve done some of the same work of “work” so can appreciate your good job and know the satisfaction one feels after successfully working on such identification projects.

    I wrote you an earlier reply but “lost” it in cyberspace. BTW, the new brochures you designed and wrote about for the Cemetery are excellent and I was so pleased to see how the brouchure covered much more of the Civil War era history of the area as well as none of this type of information is so easily available to people who visit the area. This history all needs to be preserved as well as possible and shared.

    If you can share more brouchures, would you please bring some to the meeting of the CWRT on July 19th?

    Again, good job!
    Carolyn

  2. oakviewroadmedia Post author

    Thanks Carolyn for your comment. Yes, I’ll be sure to bring several dozen copies of the new brochure to the CWRT on July 19th.

  3. Morrissa Clanahan

    Richard, how interesting this is. I have been looking at these pictures for some years now. When I first became a member of the MCNCPC we use to go to different places and set up a display about the MCNCPC and the National Cemetery. We took these pictures with us several times but I stopped because they were very fragile. It’s nice to know the names to the faces. You have done an excellent job and the MCNCPC is so fortunate to have you as a member of our organization. Keep up the good work.

  4. oakviewroadmedia Post author

    Thank you Morrissa. It is an honor to serve the commission and to know all of you. My work has no comparison to all that you and the others have done. In fact, it is your work that actually prevented the government from closing the cemetery! It is your work that led to the recent three acre expansion. My work is a tiny thing compared to that! But if my work helps further the commission’s great work, then I am honored.

Leave a Reply

