Tell Me Something I Don’t Already Know

Typing these words is the most difficult thing in the world. I had to sit here for a few minutes and figure out a way to begin and that’s the best I could do. Pretty lame, I know. It’s been a long day and I’m tired. Sleep can wait until I get this off my chest.

I appreciate the time you take to write your Facebook essay. Based on what I read, I get the impression you spent a lot of time finding the right words. The effort shows.

Despite the effort, it didn’t work. The paragraph fell short of its potential because you never said anything I didn’t already know. What you wrote never surprised or moved me. It was just words typed on a computer screen and submitted to the world.

Every topic; every story – deserves to be written in a way that helps your readers see the story in a different way. Think of the most mundane thing you can imagine and see if you can discover a way to tell it in a way no one ever imagined.

Use interesting verbs, analogies, metaphors – whatever – to give the idea an interesting twist.

Earlier today I talked with a fellow ex-smoker about brands of cigarettes we smoked – back in the day. Then the conversation turned to unfiltered cigarettes – the nastiest of the world’s nastiest habit!

I mentioned my Uncle Tom – the guy lived to be 84 despite chain smoking unfiltered butts. I can’t remember the brand, but it was fascinating how he beat the odds for so long. My Uncle Tom smoked unfiltered cigarettes and smelled like the inside of an old shoe. He’d squish the butt in the ashtray as he picked tobacco from his lips and then cough like a steam engine. Tom loved his cigarettes and as soon as the phlegm cleared, he’d light up another. He made them look good. Back then I smoked too, so it didn’t take long before I tried one. Yes – they worked. If you needed a smoke, these guys would do the trick. Wow. They made me dizzy. Tobacco overkill.

Time for bed. Hopefully my dreams will tell me something I didn’t already know.

 

 

